Why I Joined A Trial of VRX496

Nov 1 2005, 11:31 am

A question I have often been adked is “why are you in this type of study?” The answer is very frank, I have used all 4 categories of drugs, the nukes, the non-nukes, the protease inhibitors, and am on the one fusion inhibitor now. I have been through 24 differents drugs and have run out of options. The HIV strain I have has developed a resistance to treatment. For some reason, it has figured out how to get around the actions of the drugs, and then contiues to bounce back. Because I had no more FDA approved options left, I naturally opted to participate in the Trial of VRX496. The benifits at the least will buy me some more time and hopefully, at the most, will suppress HIV altogehter.

About Friar Timothy, Franciscan Urban Mission, INC.

Disciple of Jesus Christ with a Progressive Message, Author, Franciscan Friar, Musician, Social Activist, and Urban Missionary View all posts by Friar Timothy, Franciscan Urban Mission, INC.

Leave a Reply

