Greetings to you all

Greetings to you all!

     I would like to update you all concerning my application process into the Order of Ecumenical Franciscans. My application has been submitted and accepted and the process has begun. I will be attending the annual convocation in Saint Louis June 1 thru the fourth, and at that time, I hope to be installed as a postulant. I ask for your prayers that God will direct my path and bless my trip to St. Louis. Here is an update on my health.
     The lab has discovered that they did not get all of the mice proteins out of the product before infusion. The proteins are used to separate white cells after they are harvested from the patient. I am having some allergic reactions, such as itching, rash, and fatigue. They do not understand or know what may further develop. I ask that you keep me in prayer, that God will provide smooth sailing for me. I have a lot to accomplish and I need the energy to do it. Thanks for all your support that you have shown. I am truly blessed to have so many brothers and sisters, friends and loved ones!

The True Gnosticism

“If ye abide in my word, then are ye truly my disciples; and ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” Joh 8:32

I love the daily office and lectionary for this past week, as well as the lesser feasts. The passages seem to center on knowledge, the knowledge of God. They also speak to His wisdom, which is His knowledge experienced. I love the verse pasted above and especially the word underlined; the word know. In the Greek text, it is the word gnosis, which is the root of Gnosticism. Christ is implying that we can know truth. Who said he wasn’t a Gnostic, anyway?
     The Gnostics of the 2nd and 3rd centuries were, in fact, quite different in their beliefs from mainstream Christianity. The main thing that set them apart was their belief that Jesus was not really God in the Flesh (God incarnate). They thought that he was an apparition and so were his works. As far as their thoughts about an inner knowledge, the Apostles and Christ himself teach that. Just check out the book of John chapters 15 thru 17. Jesus talks about abiding in us by the presence of the person of the Holy Spirit. Paul speaks of this inner gnosis in the book of Ephesians and Colossians. Check out Eph 3:16.
     You will know (gnosis) the truth and the truth will make you free. Most people misquote this all the time. It is not “set you free” it is make you free. What is the big deal, you ask? The answer is it is a creative action to which Jesus refers.  We are transformed by truth that abides in us. We are not set free to remain the in the same condition of soul that we were before we met Christ. If we had an anger problem before we met him, we should be resolving that problem now that we know him, ECT. We are being made free. This is a creative process. Christianity is not an act of doing it is a state of being, a process of transformation, and a journey from the mere intellectual to the experiential. We are traveling beyond theory to reality and from mere human consciousness to spiritual intuition. All of this means that we do know (gnosis). We are Gnostics in the truest sense, but not in the classic sense. For further reading:

I Co 2:11-16, Col 1:9, Eph 1:17-19, Eph 3:16-19, Eph 4:23-24, Romans 8, John 16:13
Experiencing the Depths of Jesus Christ by Madamn Guionne
The Spiritual Man by Watchman Nee



About Friar Timothy, Franciscan Urban Mission, INC.

Disciple of Jesus Christ with a Progressive Message, Author, Franciscan Friar, Musician, Social Activist, and Urban Missionary View all posts by Friar Timothy, Franciscan Urban Mission, INC.

One response to “Greetings to you all

  • Barefoot Guy

    I love Watchman Nee!His stuff has impacted me in such a deep way, I don’t think I even understand it. I have read most of his books and have been so encouraged by his personal walk with Jesus. He was something special.I am a musician and WN has inspired many of my songs. I would be honored if you would check out my music on my site. All my music is free for download. Anyway, I just thought that I’d share.Thanks,-Sean________________________www.SeanDietrich.com”All my music is free for download.”

Leave a Reply

