A Living Sacrifice

“Jesus began telling his disciples what would happen to him. He said, “I must go to Jerusalem. There the nation’s leaders, the chief priests, and the teachers of the Law of Moses will make me suffer terribly. I will be killed, but three days later I will rise to life.”
Peter took Jesus aside and told him to stop talking like that. He said, “God would never let this happen to you, Lord!”
Jesus turned to Peter and said, “Satan, get away from me! You’re in my way because you think like everyone else and not like God.”
Then Jesus said to his disciples: If any of you want to be my followers, you must forget about yourself. You must take up your cross and follow me.
If you want to save your life, you will destroy it. But if you give up your life for me, you will find it.
What will you gain, if you own the whole world but destroy yourself? What would you give to get back your soul?
The Son of Man will soon come in the glory of his Father and with his angels to reward all people for what they have done.” Matthew 16:22-27

Satan confronted me today. The reality is that he will use unsaved friends, relatives, and people in general sometimes to test and try your faith, and to make us stumble. I went to my neighbor’s home to trade some items this afternoon and while I was there, he brought out some Paul Mason Brandy. Now I am in recovery from binge drinking, and being a functional alcoholic, so that was not a good thing for me.  It only takes one drink to fall off the wagon. I really wanted to drink that entire drink, but he began to argue about being “spiritual” as opposed to attending or needing what he called the “whore church.” That is  his reference to organized religion. Now he is the kind of guy that argues with one question after another, without leaving any room for active listening and one answer at a time. He twists the conversation to confuse his opponent. That is the way the devil speaks, and when a person is speaking that way, it is usually the influence of Satan at work.

A righteous indignation rose up in me,, and I began to prophesy to him. I stopped his rhetoric with the word of the Lord TO HIM. It was stunning. God told him that he wanted to argue that he could be spiritual without the need of the church, or accountability and fellowship with other believers, because he didn’t want to give up the booze, and drugs, and other sins of darkness in his life. I told hm that my life had taken another direction, and then I drew the line in the sand:

“We are telling you what we have seen and heard, so that you may share in this life with us. And we share in it with the Father and with his Son Jesus Christ.
1We are writing to tell you these things, because this makes us truly happy.
Jesus told us that God is light and doesn’t have any darkness in him. Now we are telling you. If we say that we share in life with God and keep on living in the dark, we are lying and are not living by the truth. But if we live in the light, as God does, we share in life with each other. And the blood of his Son Jesus washes all our sins away.  If we say that we have not sinned, we are fooling ourselves, and the truth isn’t in our hearts.
But if we confess our sins to God, he can always be trusted to forgive us and take our sins away.” I John 1:4-9

The I walked away.

Sometimes you have to draw a line in the sand. Sometimes you have to walk away from those who profess to live in the light, when they are actually snorting coke, or smoking pot, and drinking liquor in front of people in recovery. That is darkness, but I want to be a child of the light. Sometimes you must flee the darkness, in order to remain in the light, and declare Let there be Light” in the midst of the Darkness. “Arise Shine, for your Light has come…” Isaiah says in chapter 60:1. Sometimes we must simply arise and rebuke the darkness. Even when we have known someone for more than a year or two. We must take up the cross and follow Jesus, and sometimes that means becoming ta living sacrifice to things, and others in this world, in order to please HIM.

In the name of the Father, the Son,  and the Holy Spirit,

AMEN

 

 

 

:

 

About Friar Timothy, Franciscan Urban Mission, INC.

Disciple of Jesus Christ with a Progressive Message, Author, Franciscan Friar, Musician, Social Activist, and Urban Missionary View all posts by Friar Timothy, Franciscan Urban Mission, INC.

Leave a Reply

